Home POLITICS ODM expels rebel mps from the party | Jalang’o and other rebel...

ODM expels rebel mps from the party | Jalang’o and other rebel mps removed from ODM party


The Orange Democratic Movement, ODM Party, has expelled the five members of parliament who rebelled against the party. The party’s NEC has approved their removal from the party after a meeting today. According to the NEC, the five contravened the party’s constitution by championing the interests of another political party.

The five are

  • Elisha Ochieng’ Odhiambo (Gem),
  • Caroli Omondi (Suba South),
  • Gideon Ochanda (Bondo),
  • Tom Ojienda (Senator of Kisumu County)
  • Phelix Odiwuor Kodhe alias Jalang’o (Lang’ata)

“Members facing allegations of violation of Article 11 (1) (e) of the party constitution and section 14A of the Political Parties Act 2011 by openly associating with and supporting activities of a rival political party and opposed lawful decisions/resolutions made by the party organs, be deemed to have resigned from the party,”

“The party is hereby directed to commence the process of removing them from the register of the party,”

Prior to this decision by NEC meeting convened by Raila,  the affected members had appeared before the Sihanya-led committee to defend themselves from the accusations of gross misconduct almost a month ago. As per ODM constitution, a disciplinary process can lead to either reprimanding the member, censuring or fining the member.

Leave a Reply