Home FEATURE STORIES List of Kenyan Counties and their Codes | County Codes for all...

List of Kenyan Counties and their Codes | County Codes for all Counties in Kenya


According to the constitution of Kenya 2010, Kenya has a Devolved system of government where there are two tiers of government; the National government and the County government. This means that there are sub divisions of the country into counties that are led by governors who has his or her county government.
















There are 47 counties in Kenya which have been assigned unique codes that are used in their identification. The coding was done systemically from the Coastal region of Kenya all the way to Nyanza region. This means that lower codes will be mostly associated with coastal counties and the numbering goes up as one gets deeper into the mainland.














County 001 – Mombasa county

Mombasa county is the first and was assigned the famous county 001. There are about 1.3 million people in this county whose capital is Mombasa City. Former governor Ali Hassan Joho was the first governor of Mombasa and served for two terms.












County 002 – Kwale County

Kwale borders Mombasa in the coastal region making it become number two. 2019 census revealed that there are roughly 866,830 Kenyans living in Kwake county. Kwalr town serves as the headquarters though Ukunda is the largest town.














County 003 – Kilifi county

Third on the list is Kilifi county whose population is slightly over 1.4 million people. The capital is Kilifi and this county is where the popular Diani Beach is found.













County 004 – Tana River 

Tana River is still under coastal region and it is relatively lowly populated as there are about 315,943 people in Tana River. Its headquarter is Hola town.















County 005 – Lamu County

Lamu county has an estimated population of 143,923 people and its capital is Lamu town.









County 006 – Taita Taveta

Mwatate town serves as the headquarters of Taita Taveta county which I’d the sixth on the coding system. It has estimated population of 341000 people.


















County 007 – Garissa county

It is found in the North Eastern region. The  latest census of 2019 revealed there are about 841353 people in Garissa county. Its capital is Garissa town and the famous Daadab refugee camp is found in Garissa county.












County 008 – Wajir County

It is located in the North Eastern region with a population of 782k. Wajir town is the headquarters of the county and this county borders Somali.











County 00 – Mandera 

It is also a North Eastern region county with a population of over 1.3 million people. The capital is Mandera town.














County 010 – Marsabit

It is found in Eastern region and Marsabit town is the headquarters. Mandera has 460k people. It contains the Chalbi desert and Lake Turkana.









County 011 – Isiolo

Has a population of about 268k people. The capital is Isiolo town and Ewaso Nyoro River passes through this county.












County 012 – Meru County

Meru has over 1.6 million inhabitants and Meru town is the headquarters of the county. It is famed for Miraa and Jaba plants.

















County 013 – Tharaka Nithi

It has about 394k people and Kathwana town is its headquarters.





County 014 – Embu

County 015 – Kitui

Kitui is quite populated with over 1.14 million people and Kitui town its headquarters.









County 016 – Machakos 

Machakos has a total population of over 1.4 people and Machakos town is its headquarters.












 County 017 – Makueni

It has a population of 987,653 and its capital is Wote Town.









Nyandarua County – 018

Nyeri County – 019

Kirinyaga County – 020

Murang’a County – 021

Kiambu County – 022

Turkana County – 023

West Pokot County – 024

Samburu County – 025

Trans-Nzoia County – 026

Uasin Gishu County – 027

Elgeyo Marakwet County – 028

Nandi County – 029

Baringo County – 030

Laikipia County – 031

Nakuru County – 032

Narok County – 033

Kajiado County – 034

Kericho County – 035

Bomet County – 036

Kakamega County – 037

Vihiga County – 038

Bungoma County – 039

Busia County – 040

Siaya County – 041

Kisumu County – 042

Homa Bay County – 043

Migori County – 044

Kisii County – 045

Nyamira County – 046

Nairobi County – 047



Leave a Reply