Home NEWS Kenya, Uganda ‘Send’ Tanzania To Bring Afcon Cup With Sh1 Billion Fund

Kenya, Uganda ‘Send’ Tanzania To Bring Afcon Cup With Sh1 Billion Fund


The hopes of the East African Community are in the Tanzanian football team in the fight for the national champion cup in Africa (Afcon) where the winner will also be awarded Sh1 billion of Kenya.

The tournament will anchor in Côte d’Ivoire from January 13 to February 11, 2024 while Tanzania is in group F along with Morocco, DR Congo and Zambia. If the Tanzanian team is known as Taifa Stars under the coaching of Adel Amrouche, it is desired that if it misses the first place, then it should come second and be rewarded with a sum of Sh630 million.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced that the trophies will be awarded to the champions and also to the runner-up, this being an increase of 40 percent. Those who will advance to the semi-finals in those matches will guarantee themselves a prize of Sh394 million each, while those who will succeed in entering the quarter-finals will receive Sh204 million each.

The awards have been officially announced by CAF President Dr. Patrice Motsepe adding that the awards are to help the winners promote football in their country as well as to finance the efforts of stakeholders to develop talent and infrastructure.

Taifa Stars will be represented by the goalkeepers: Kwesi Kawawa, Beno Kakolanya and Aishi Manula while the defenders are Israel Mwenda, Mohamed Hussein, Bakari Mwamnyeto, Dickson Job, Nickson Kibabage, Lusajo Mwaikenda, Adam Kasa, Zion Chebe Nditi, Mark John and Miano Danilo.

In the middle of the field will depend on Yusuf Kagoma, Mzamiru Yassin, Sospeter Bajana, Adolf Bitegeko, Roberto Yohana, Edwin Balua, Said Hamis and Tarryn Allarakhia. Shaking the nets will be the responsibility of Kibu Dennis, Adbul Suleiman, Ladaki Chasambi and Simon Msuva.

Other teams in the group are Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau in group A while group B includes Egypt, Ghana, Cape Verde and Mozambique. Group C has Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea and Gambia while group D brings together Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania and Angola while group E has Tunisia, Mali, South Africa and Namibia.

The matches will be organized in the fields of the capital Abidjan, namely Felix Houphouet-Boigny and Alassane Ouattara Stadium. The others are Yamoussoukro, Bouake, Korhogo and San Pedro.

Leave a Reply