Home NEWS How Tanzania Has Prepared for AFCON This Time to Avoid the Disgrace...

How Tanzania Has Prepared for AFCON This Time to Avoid the Disgrace of 2019


The unique REPRESENTATIVE of East Africa in the Best Club in Africa (Afcon) 2023 is Tanzania and its Taifa Stars team under the coaching of Adel Amrouche from Algeria.

Tanzania has participated in the 34th edition of the tournament in Ivory Coast between January 13 and February 11 twice, in 1980 and 2019. On both occasions, it was eliminated in the group stage, overall getting 1 point out of 18 by scoring 5 goals while conceding 14 times.

This means that the nation is participating in the article for the third time now and has also guaranteed to participate in 2027 as the host of the tournament along with its neighbors; Kenya and Uganda.

In the 12th phase of the article in Egypt, Tanzania lost two championships while drawing once with Ivory Coast. Taifa Stars was drawn in group A with Nigeria, Egypt and Ivory Coast. Nigeria punished Tanzania with 3 goals to 1, Egypt beat them 2-1 and ended with a 1-1 draw with Ivory Coast.

In total, it scored 1 point, being the last in the group, having shaken the opponents’ nets three times but theirs being shaken 6 times. In 2019, Tanzania found itself in the same group with Kenya, Algeria and Senegal where it again emerged last in the C group. Tanzania was beaten 3-2 by their neighbors Kenya, a situation that made them fire their coach Emmanuel Amunike.

The tournament of the 34th phase involving 52 matches will involve 24 teams, Tanzania being in group F along with Morocco, DR Congo and Zambia. Apart from Tanzania, the other nations in the tournament are hosts Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau in group A while group B includes Egypt, Ghana, Cape Verde and Mozambique.

Group C has Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea and Gambia while group D brings together Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania and Angola while group E has Tunisia, Mali, South Africa and Namibia. The matches will be organized in the fields of the capital Abidjan, namely Felix Houphouet-Boigny and Alassane Ouattara Stadium. The others are Yamoussoukro, Bouake, Korhogo and San Pedro.

Currently, the cup is held by Senegal. Egypt has won the cup the most times, seven times, followed by Cameroon five times, Ghana, four times and DRC and Ivory Coast twice each.

Leave a Reply